October 2012: Buy Nothing New Month

Alright, so I was recently perusing through some blogs and came across this link:   http://www.buynothingnew.com.au/home/

October is apparently ‘Buy Nothing New Month” in Australia and has recently began to pick up popularity in the Netherlands (My people! I’m Dutch) and the U.S.A. (I guess they’re my people too, but the Dutch are pretty cool thought right? ;) )It got me thinking how this would be a GREAT challenge for me on a multitude of reasons. 1.) being that I’m actually kinda broke this month, (I just had to get the iPhone 5)  2.) this would be an excellent opportunity to really re-examine what I already have in my closet and come up with some new and creative ways to wear my wardrobe, and 3.) it’s just a good challenge to see what we as consumers really need. I know I can be frivolous at times and fall pray to America’s consumption for more, more, more. I’ve decided that I’ll follow the rules and only buy what I need; the necessities. This will be a great challenge! What outfits will I come up with???

Suggestion: Why don’t you join me in this effort? What could it hurt?

Below you will find a little description of the challenge:

What is this? Why Buy Nothing New?
Buy Nothing New Month is the global movement for collective, conscientious consumption.It’s a little idea, that started in Melbourne and is spreading to the Netherlands and USA.In 2011, Sydney Morning Herald ran a poll asking “is Buy Nothing New Month a good idea?” Over 10,000 voted. 82% said “yes”It’s a one month challenge to buy nothing new (with the exception of essentials like food, hygiene and medicines)Buy Nothing New Month isn’t Buy Nothing New Never. Nor is it about going without.It’s literally about taking one month off to really think, “Do I really need it?” If I do, “can I get it second-hand, borrow it or rent it? What are my alternatives? Can I borrow from a friend? Can I swap with my neighbor?”

It’s about thinking where our stuff comes from (finite resources) and where it goes when we’re done (often landfill) and what are the fantastic alternatives out there to extend the life of our ‘stuff’.

It’s easy. It’s fun. It’s moving from consumption-driven to community-driven.

It’s good for us, our wallets and our planet.

Hop on board!

Leave a Reply

