Day 18 – October 2012: Buy nothing new month

ImageImageImageImage

Recycling my wardrobe – Day 18:

Brrrrr, the cold weather has arrived and the time has come to say hello to my trench/rain coats and gloves. Some of you may not know this, but I actually ride my bike everywhere. I don’t own a car and have an old blue Schwinn that I adore with a white basket to get me around. What this means is 1.) I bike in dresses 2.) I also bike in heels! and 3.) I even bike when the weather turns nasty out. This is my third season doing it and I have become the bike apparel expert on how to bike functionally and fashionably.

For the cold weather season I layer layer layer and find that gloves, scarves, and hats are absolute necessities. Today wasn’t so cold that I needed a hat and scarf, but I did layer with a lovely coral rain coat that I got at Goodwill last year and some leather gloves that I got two years ago at a thrift store in Woodland. I arrived to work in one piece, warm, and still stylin’ – most important thing right?

Coral Charter Club rain coat, Goodwill, $5 (originally $10, but it was a 1/2 off day)

Black and white chevron striped shirt, Freestyle Clothing thrift store, $14

Ann Taylor leggings, SPCA thrift, $4.99

Charles David leather boots, Freestyle Clothing thrift store, $30

Leather gloves, thrift store in Woodland, $5

I made the necklace

Leave a Reply

