Day 20 – October 2012: Buy nothing new month

ImageImage

Recycling my wardrobe – Day 20:

This is a shout out to my wonderful mother, Deb. My mom is honest to god the best seamstress in the whole wide world and sometimes, when I’m lucky, she makes me something. This beautiful 60’s inspired suit was made by my Mommacita about 6 years ago out of light blue and chocolate brown boucle. There’s a high waisted skirt (there I go again with my high waists!) and beautiful jacket. The buttons are exquisite as well and made from tiny little pieces of abalone shells – an abalone mosaic! I just cherish this piece she made me and feel so blessed to call her mom. She inspires me everyday…

I may not be able to afford a Chanel suit, but at least I’m lucky enough to have a mom who can make me a suit just as good :)

Leave a Reply

