Day 23 – October 2012: Buy nothing new month (When art inspires fashion)

ImageImageImageImage

Recycling my wardrobe – Day 23:

I LOVE this dress – A LOT! When I found this Diane Von Furstenberg silk dress I was instantly reminded of the late artist Paul Jenkins. My favorite medium is watercolor and Jenkins’ painted in watercolor or acrylic. Even his acrylic paintings were just as beautiful and translucent as watercolors – so luminous and beautiful use of light. His work was Abstract Expressionism at it’s finest and the dress I have on makes me feel like a walking piece of art. DVF has some phenomenal printed fabrics and out of all my dresses by her, this one takes the cake. (P.S. do you notice the ruching in the front and back of the dress? See how flattering it is and why I love it so much? Ladies, keep your eyes out for dresses constructed this way – it flatters SO many different body types!)

Below are a few examples of Jenkins’ work:

ImageImageImageImage

DVF, Freestyle, $18 (free because I had trade there)

Red leather heals, Freestyle, $9 (1/2 off, were $18)

5 thoughts on “Day 23 – October 2012: Buy nothing new month (When art inspires fashion)

Leave a Reply

