30 days, 30 dresses: Day 11 – Sacramento Antique Faire!

I realize that I skipped Day 9 & 10 – my apologies! I didn’t have any one to take my picture, but I promise to get them soon along with a tri-pod! Getting back to Day 11 – I opted for a more laid back ‘Parisian Chic’ look because I gotta keep up with my Casual Sunday motto and attire. Seeing that it was the Sacramento Antique Faire, I decided to spruce it up just a little bit. (believe it or not, people get dressed up for it) So I decided to add a little silk scarf around my neck and wear my black leather gloves to give my casual dress some more pizazz. (the Prada cat eye sunglasses helped too ;) – I actually got those for a steal) Like I said, I was channeling my inner Parisian Chicness that day – maybe it was just wishful thinking that I was actually there. What a magical city right?! Shoot, when I went 7 years ago I met a super cute Aussie and did the whole hand holding through the streets of Paris, Arc de Triumph, and of course, the Eiffel Tower. Crazy romantic right? Hey, I ended up dating him for 2 1/2 years and moved to Australia for him! That’s the kind of effect Paris has on me, I drop everything to move half way across the world for love. Oh to be young again…

Getting back to my Casual Sunday – I spent it perusing the Sacramento Antique Faire. As we all know I didn’t attend  last month because it was ‘Buy Nothing New Month,’ but this month it was on! Needless to say, I had a fantastic time and picked up some really amazing stuff. I got a poster from 1967 with Twiggy on it, (so framing that) an amazing vintage fur coat!!!! I mean, it’s lined with Tiffany blue satin and fits me perfectly. I realize it’s a New York kind of coat and not a Sacramento coat. But, who am I to conform? Hah! It’s a work of art and I will wear it :) I even wore it vacuuming yesterday, I love it that much. I also picked up two Life magazines from 1964 and 1965. At the Museum I work at, we just opened our Norman Rockwell exhibit. I couldn’t believe it, I opened the Life Magazine and there on page 3 was an article written by Rockwell. Such a great great find for me, almost better than my fur coat – ok, maybe not, but it was a great piece of history and fun to bring into work for everyone to see. My favorite sentence from the article was the opener: “I can’t think of a greater waste in the world than being blessed with a natural ability…and doing nothing about it.” When I read this I got the chills and had myself a little moment. Just think about that quote and where you are in your life, what truly makes you happy? What are you good at? I believe the Universe has a plan for all of us and that we all have ‘natural abilities,’ (gifts) – let’s just hope we recognize our talents and use them. A lady walked up to me at the Antique Faire and said ‘honey you don’t belong here in Sacramento, you belong in New York’ – you never know, maybe she’s right…

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Outfit:

Banana Republic hat, Freestyle Clothing thrift store, $9

Prada sunglasses, Sunglass Hut, $200 on sale. BUT, I got them the day after X-Mas on super sale. It was buy one Prada get second Prada free! I had a $125 gift card, used that and got 2 pairs of Prada’s for $75. Oh wait, I then sold the other pair of Prada that I didn’t like on Craigslist for $100. So in the end I got them essentially free and made $25  :)

Scarf, free at a clothing swap

Yaya leather jacket, Freestyle Clothing thrift store, $18

Charles David leather boots, Freestyle Clothing thrift store, $30

Gloves, Thrift store in Woodland, $5

Gap dress, Gap, $40 (I never buy things new, but I had to have it – plus, it was 30% off so that made it ok)

Leave a Reply

