Channeling my inner Hepburn

Out of all the movie stars, Audrey Hepburn is hands down my favorite. To me, she epitomized style, grace, class, and beauty. Not only was she one of the most unique and striking women of our time, but she was also a humanitarian – making her that much more incredible in my book. Not that Ms. Hepburn and I look very much a like, but we do share a similar body frame and heritage. She was Dutch too! So any chance I get to wear a look similar to something she wore; I do it!

One thing I love about clothing is the story it can create. The stories become little narratives that bring new meaning and life to the clothing that you have. I was supposed to go to a “Dessert at Tiffany’s” event a couple of weeks ago on Valentine’s Day. The event was the movie, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, followed by dessert – perfect V-Day right? I knew I had to go on the man hunt to track down an ensemble inspired by the movie. I found the beautiful vintage Nathan Logan dress at Freestyle for $15 and the gloves at Previews for $10. The vintage shoes and pearls I already had. (SPCA thrift $10 and pearls I’ve had for years) I loved dressing ‘the part’ for this and think the clothes did a great job representing Audrey in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Sadly, my event was canceled :( But that didn’t stop me from getting dressed up and playing the part. I think if there really is an after life, Ms Hepburn and I will be friends :)

TIPS: Looking for awesome vintage? Here’s a list of some of my favorite stores for vintage pieces!:

1.) Freestyle Clothing Exchange on the corner of 21st and L street. The vintage section is small, but it’s a great selection. The dress I have on in this pic is from there.

2.) YSJ Vintage located on 924 12th street. This store is fantastic for us vintage lovers! Seriously, great selection for reasonable prices.

3.) And lastly, my favorite place to find vintage. Drum roll….The Sacramento Antique Faire! I always leave with really unique pieces for great deals. Fun thing about the Antique Faire is that you can bargain! Located underneath the freeway at 21st and X street. It’s the 2nd Sunday of the month starting at 6:30 am.

ImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “Channeling my inner Hepburn

Leave a Reply

