SACFW Spring/Summer & Fall/Winter fashion show review

I’m not going to lie, there was a point this past weekend during Sac Fashion Week where I had to pinch myself to see if I was dreaming or not. Dreaming I was not, and my reality was quite magical and surreal. It continues to amaze me more and more everyday that when you start following your dreams how it all just starts happening. I felt very lucky and honored to be a part of SACFW and to be invited to do press for them this past week. I’d like to especially thank the beautiful and kind Bridgett Rex for inviting me and for being a ray of sunshine. You should have seen her Saturday night decked out in her lovely yellow vintage dress and sun crown. I love someone who channels and owns their individuality and that she did beautifully. :)

I sat here today going over hundreds of pictures that I took from Friday and Saturday nights shows. As I reflected back on the two nights, I was overwhelmed with happiness for the designer’s who were able to showcase their work. It takes a lot of dedication, drive, and skill to pull something like that off, and for that, I commend you all for a job very well done. I would love to write in detail about every single designer I saw, but that would take a novel. So instead I’m focusing on four that really caught my eye.

The first night was the Spring/Summer show and Maisha Bahati’s beautiful dresses were calling my name! The beautiful drape, the backless cut outs, and big bold prints had me drooling and wanting to get on stage and rip the dresses right off of the models! I’m a big fan of Diane Von Furstenburg and love her use of color and prints and especially silk jersey material. Silk jersey to me is one of the most comfy fabrics to wear, especially in a dress. It has great weight and movement and you could definitely see that in Bahati’s work. Girl, you get an A+ from me. I would have worn just about every single one of your dresses.

As for men’s wear, I was impressed by the designer of Rampant, Jason Powers. I had interviewed him at the Launch party at the Mix Sunday and heard in detail from him his inspiration for the collection. Jason had showed me two very different photographs that had inspired him and to see what he was able to come up with from those two pictures was very interesting. One picture was tribal like and the other one was a dark urban city scape. I loved how he combined the edgy with the casual. This was especially apparent to me in a pair of pants he made with long leather pockets – great detail!

As for the Fall/Winter show on Saturday night, I have to give it up to Nolan Kouri for woman’s wear and R. Douglas for men’s wear. Growing up with a seamstress of a mother, tailoring is really important to me. I really respect and admire people who make beautiful and impeccable clothes and these two designers did. Some of Kouri’s pieces were definitely 40’s inspired  in my opinion and you know I love that! That red suit that started the show nearly had me on the floor – it was absolutely stunning! Everything from the tailoring, to the jewel toned colors, to the beautifully accessorized hats had me wanting more. Mr. Kouri if you are reading this, I’d like to borrow your collection and wear them all – thank you!

Lets talk about R. Douglas. Now if there are any men out there reading this, please take note from the Pheebs: That is how a man should dress! Oh my god, if a man were to come up to me dressed like that and ask me on a date I’d be like ‘ummmm, yeah!’ Seriously, the suits were remarkably tailored and the styling was phenomenal! There was so much attention to detail that even the laces in the shoes matched either the tie or the pocket square. Seriously boys, take note from R. Douglas and get yourself a suit by him.

Here are my favorite looks from the 4 designers I just mentioned from top to bottom:

ImageImagesecuredownload-13Image

Reflecting back on this experience, I find myself very grateful for the opportunity that was presented to me. Not only did I get to witness some of the best local designers, but I also had the opportunity to meet some amazing amazing people. As I continue down this journey, I’m reminded that I’m exactly where I am supposed to be. Many thanks to all the people involved with SACFW and many thanks to all the wonderful people I met this weekend. Below are some more of my favorite pieces I saw from different designers. (Top pictures are by the talented Vasily Vein (look at the intricate work in the coat!) who closed the show and third photo down is by the designer Nelli Rosh)

Other pictures included my favorite look of the night, (she was adorable and wearing a beautiful vintage suit!) pictures of the VIP party before the show underground Elks Tower, and some pictures of the wonderful people I met this weekend!

WHAT I WORE: had to represent my thrifted fashions and chose to wear a vintage floral dress from YSJ Vintage ($15) on Friday night and a beautiful silk beaded BCBG dress on Saturday night from Freestlye Clothing Exchange ($35)

Imagesecuredownload-14ImageImagesecuredownload-5ImageImage

Leave a Reply

