1960’s revival? Yes please!

Hello readers! My apologies for being absent this past week. It was a crazy busy week full of highs and lows. I have a lot to catch up on!

Ok, from time to time I become completely and utterly obsessive about certain styles of clothing, eras in particular. Can you guess what era I’m obsessed with right now? The 60’s! I’ve always adored 60’s fashion, but what really took me from ‘like’ to ‘obsessed’ recently was Louis Vuitton’s Spring 2013 60’s inspired lineup (please see image below) and a purchase of an original 1966 Vogue magazine from the Sacramento Antique Faire. The Vogue magazine is one of the most amazing finds I’ve ever purchased. INCREDIBLE incredible fashion, photography, history, the list goes on! (I’ll post more about it later)

I’ve been so obsessed, that I based my recent Charity Fashion show at Lucca Restaurant on the 60’s primarily. I love the vibrant colors, make up, hair styles, and Shift dresses that became popular because of Mary Quant. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Quant)ImageShe was a revolutionary and believed that it was time for young women in that era to develop their own look; treat fashion as a game. Love that!

I’m all for being modern, but I constantly look back in fashion for inspiration. The 60’s were a time when fashion went from the conservative dresses of the 50’s (I still like those, too) to the mini skirt! Women dared to play different and bend the rules. I like to fancy myself a lady who bends the rules from time to time with the intention of being different and hopefully inspiring others…

Louis Vuitton Spring 2013 looks and 1966 Vogue that inspired me:

ImageImage

My 60’s look: Vintage 60’s inspired dress from the Sacramento Antique Faire for $5!!! Shirt, necklace, and shoes thrifted too ($5, $1.99, & $15) I love this little dress because it can be worn for the work environment and evening. Love a versatile dress!

TIPS: The tights I have on are from Forever21. (great tights, great prices – typically $5) Like the cat eye liner I have on? Would you believe it’s by Wet & Wild? It is! It’s their liquid liner that comes in a tube with a variety of colors. (under $3) Also, don’t forget to check out the Sacramento Antique Faire the 2nd Sunday of the month under the freeway at 21st and X street.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “1960’s revival? Yes please!

  1. The darts make this dress! I remember sewing darts into the clothes i wore in the 60’s–you had to be so careful, but a well made and well placed dart made the wearer look great! I miss darts–am going to have to go thrifting and find things with them. For a while, there were blouses made with darts, but they seem to have faded from the scene. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

