Believe in something bigger…

Image                  …Lord of success and destroyer of evils and obstacles. God of education, knowledge, wisdom and wealth…

I’m not a religious person, but I find absolute comfort in Ganesh. A little back story… 3 1/2 years ago I was going through some TOUGH stuff and went over to my friend Jenna’s house to visit with her mother. Her mother was/is a spiritual healer and had just acquired a crystal light bed from Brazil. You lay on the bed and she adjusted the crystals above you to match up with all of your chakras. And if you believed in it or not, you asked the spirits or what ever you want to call them/it to help heal what ever ailment was bothering you at the time. I was in such a bad place physically and emotionally that I was willing to believe and ask for healing. She turned the lights on, which then radiated through the crystals. She placed a towel over my eyes and said that I might feel things or see things and to just remain calm and relaxed. Crazy right?! Well, with the towel over my eyes I laid back and began to relax. As I laid there, I opened my eyes through the towel to then see an elephant type figure on the wall. This image was foreign to me, I had no clue what it was. I took the towel off my face and the elephant figure was no longer there. I thought maybe it had just been something I visualized in my head and proceeded to put the towel back on my eyes. After another minute or so, with the towel on my face, I saw it again. There wasn’t a sense of fright from this, but rather a sense of calm and comfort. After Jenna’s mom came back into the room I told her what I had experienced and she smiled and said that the vision I saw was was Ganesh, the Remover of Obstacles.

For a girl that had a million obstacles preventing her from getting healthy again, it was enough for me to believe that maybe I do have something greater than myself watching over me. Two days after that I went to a yoga studio in SF and there stood Ganesh in the door way. Might sound crazy, but the deity brings me immense comfort in times when all seems to be failing me or even when all things are going well.

Believing in something bigger can be in the form of a deity like Ganesh, or just believing that if you keep working hard the Universe will reward you in the end. Once I made a decision all those years ago to change the course of my life, the energy/Universe started to show itself in the most beautiful and profound of ways. Things I had only dreamt of started to become realities .

In the hardest of times I have to believe and have faith that everything is going to work out. Bumps along the road just add character and empower me to rise above and be a better person because of it. If your dreams and goals are scaring you, believe in something bigger!!! Believe that you are fully capable of accomplishing anything.

I started believing in my love for fashion and being creative again when I decided to turn my life around. I’d like to think that maybe Ganesh is all around protecting me and guiding me towards the brighter light of things. Each day that goes by, I feel more and more blessed and grateful for all that has happened.

90% contentment 8% joy 2% gratitude…

Fashion is my medicine and allows me to be free and creative and for that I am supremely grateful.

This weekend, I had the opportunity to revisit the crystal light bed and the things I asked the spirits to help me with this time are very different from the past. I realize that I’ve grown a lot from 3 1/2 years ago and that all the ailments that had been bothering me then have been healed. I didn’t see Ganesh this time, but I did feel an overwhelming sense of calm and peace after.

It was a lovely weekend filled with love, yoga, friendship, gratitude, and a whole lot of zen going on. I hope that everyone had a wonderful weekend…

Fun outfit post and vignettes of this weekend:

Thrifted 60’s outfit, both from Freestyle ($5 and $5)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

