When opposites attract…

I like my colors the opposite just as much as I like my men the opposite of me. I’m a Taurus and have a tendency to like Scorpios! I just can’t help it, they’re so much fun! Just like the color play with this orange dress and blue accessories were.

Recently I have been re-falling in love with the work of Piet Mondrian and the simple use of bold colors and lines. I particularly loved his use of red-orange and blue together.Image Though opposite on the color wheel, orange and blue are complimentary colors and go, in my opinion, fabulously together! In fact, orange and blue are my two favorite colors. And I’m not just biased because I’m Dutch, Piet Mondrian is Dutch, and the colors of Holland are orange and blue ;)

I was so inspired by Mondrian that I wanted to somehow mimic one of his paintings. I took my red-orange Ann Taylor dress and paired it with blue vintage accessories, shoes, AND makeup. Here’s a big tip girls: Wet & Wild is frickin’ awesome and has amazing cobalt blue liquid liner and gorgeous orangey lipstick. And for a mere $1.99, you can pretty much afford to try all the different colors they offer. 

When opposites attract, it can be electrifying – make a statement!

‘Art isn’t about following the rules. It’s about breaking them.’ ~ David Sedaris

Outfit:

Ann Taylor dress, Freestyle Clothing Exchange, $13

Necklace, Goodwill, $3

Ring, Goodwill, $2.50

Vintage blue suede heels, Crossroads, $7

ImageImageImageImage

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

