Sacramento Antique Faire fun and the launch of our YouTube channel The Frugalistas!

Yeah, the Sacramento Antique Faire is alright. I guess they have some OK stuff sometimes. Ummmmmm, this is a lie! The Sacramento Antique Faire is quite literally one of my favorite things to do in Sac and the hidden gem of this city! I can just about guarantee that you will find something truly unique and amazing every time you go. I don’t just like it, I LOOOVEEEE it and get a rush of adrenaline pumping through me when I enter the gates on 21st and X the 2nd Sunday of the month.

Last Sunday, July 14th, was a day for the books when it came to finding exquisite vintage clothes and accessories. My friend Katie of Thrift Your Heart Out came with me that morning not only to shop, but to launch our first YouTube video documenting our thrifting/antiquing hauls. Yes, drum roll please….. Katie and I have started our own YouTube channel call The Frugalistas. We have been friends for years and avid thrifters. We are like two peas in a pod when it comes to our mutual love for all things thrifted, consigned, or vintage. The Sacramento Antique Faire seemed liked a fitting place to chronicle out first haul! We hope you enjoy and subscribe to out channel! Below is the link to our Antique Faire haul and YouTube channel:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheFrugalistas

Back to the amazing vintage finds. I’m not kidding, I almost fainted when I found this amazing black silk velvet dress with the original jacket and belt. ImageImage It’s in MINT condition without a single flaw. Come to find out from the dealer, Nora, it actually came from the original owner. Nora was consigning it for her and apparently she bought it especially for her honeymoon trip to Europe in the early 50’s! Ok, you can believe the story or not, but one look and inspection of the ensemble and there is no doubt in my mind or my moms (she’s the expert) that it’s from the 50’s. It’s fanfrickingtastic and a genuine piece of art and history. Phew, I’m getting all excited just writing about it. The cost for this one of a kind masterpiece was $40 and worth every penny! I got the hat the same day, too. It’s from another vendor, Marie, and cost $4.

Image

Look at all the beautiful detail!!!! Ahhhhhh, so amazing!!!!!!ImageImageImage

Ok, I’m calming myself down…On to the other finds! Along with the lovely black hat from above, I also got another amazing vintage hat from Ms. Marie. This blue hat with the bow is so amazing, too. You just don’t find things like this anymore. ($4 as well)Image

To top it off, I found this rad 60’s shift/A-line dress from the same vendor that I found the black ensemble from. It was $10 and worth it, too! I love that I have vintage blue suede heels from Goodwill to match the dress! My makeup is from Wet & Wild – it’s super cheap (good quality, too) and for $1.99 you can afford to have fun with a variety of different colors. ImageImageImage

Lastly, I found some great necklaces. There was an amazing stand where everything was laid out so well. Both Katie and I got 4 necklaces for $10! ImageImage

Thank you for reading and make sure to put the next Sac Antique Faire in your calendar! That’s 8/11/13 if you are wondering :) Also, make sure to keep a look out for The Frugalistas next thrifting video on YouTube!

Image

Love,

The Dress Fiend

4 thoughts on “Sacramento Antique Faire fun and the launch of our YouTube channel The Frugalistas!

      • Thank you so much for this wonderful blog post. All of us at the Sacramento Antique Faire get very excited when we get feedback like this!! We’re so happy to hear that people are enjoying the market! Also, the pic’s are amazing!
        Thanks again, and all the best to you!!

      • Hi Marylon,
        Thank you so much for reading my blog post! I ADORE the Sacramento Antique Faire and never miss it! Well, I missed it this month because I got my 2nd Sunday’s mixed up! Some of my favorite vintage pieces I own are from the faire. Thanks for liking the pics, too. I love telling a story with my clothes and take a lot of pride with the pics I create :) Thanks again for reading and enjoying the post.

Leave a Reply

