“Why fit in when you were born to stand out!” ~ Dr. Seuss

Sometimes I still get that ‘well, ummmmm, maybe I shouldn’t wear that” or “maybe I should try and dress like that/her” and promptly realize that I am who I am today because I don’t like to ‘fit in’ and choose to live my life standing out.

It all starts with the heart and my biggest advice to people is to follow that fashion hunch and learn to find your true authentic style. I recently came across the quote, “why fit in when you were born to stand out!” by Dr. Seuss and had a moment reflecting on how much I’ve evolved over the years. We all go through phases in life when all we want to do is conform and fit in right? When my father passed away when I was 16 I found myself a little lost wanting so badly to fit in and conform.  In turn, I lost who I was and the passion that I had for recycled fashion. We have bumps in life and the death of my father at such a pivotal age shook my world and shut me off from many of the creative outlets I once had. Luckily for me, I was able to take that sad time in life and eventually turn it into something positive. In my later 20’s I had another ‘bump’ in the road that once again took away from that creative side. For a long time I spent hours upon hours wishing things were different, or “if I was only like that” until one day 2 1/2 years ago I woke up and decided to take life back into my hands and start living again. Once I decided to change things, my love for recycled fashion, style, and art began to pour back into my life. It didn’t just pour, it flooded! I can’t begin to express how incredibly grateful I am for all that has happened to me.

So if you are feeling stuck in life and thinking that the only way to be happy is to fit in, I’m here to tell you through personal experiences that life is much more beautiful when you stand out! Be yourself and who knows, you might just inspire someone else that might be in a hard place in life. People inspired/inspire me and I hope I can do the same for others…

Outfit:

I would have never dared to match stripes with a polka dot skirt in the past, but I listened to my fashionable heart and went for it! Sometimes my choices in clothes don’t always work, but I would much rather have tried than to not have tried at all. That’s where real style emerges, by taking risks.

Beret, French Cuff Consignment, $14 – Beaded necklace, Goodwill, $5, Ann Taylor striped shirt, Goodwill, $4, Handmade polka dot skirt, Freestyle Clothing Exchange, $15. (this skirt is one of my favorite finds of all time! – who ever made this did a beautiful job)

ImageImageImageImageImage

Love,

The Dress Fiend

7 thoughts on ““Why fit in when you were born to stand out!” ~ Dr. Seuss

  1. You are a breath of fresh air! Love your positive blog, vintage style, creative photography and charming spirit…I am a “May” baby too but born in the mid 50’s. You have inspired me to wear more DRESSES and revisit thrift shops like I did during my college days. My look was out-standing in vintage wear. Thank you for the reminder. Looking forward to meeting you in the future at an event or fashion show. Happy Day to you!

    • Thank you so much for the kind note! I’m so happy that you enjoy reading my blog, really made my day to read this :) Isn’t vintage just the best?! Brings me such joy when I find amazing pieces – it’s a little bit of history and such impeccable sewing and skill involved with vintage. You should see the new piece I got! I’ll post soon – thanks again for all the nice words and good luck with your thrifting adventures. Please let me know when you find some cool pieces!

      • I turned 59 in May and I wear whatever fashion speaks to me…not necessarily “age appropriate” but what feels good and looks good on me. It is never too late to begin again after being invisible and in a rut for way too long. Now I look younger than I did 10 years ago. I agree with kittehluvs! It just took me a little longer. :)

  2. I could not agree more!!!! I also tried for a long time to ‘fit in’ and wear certain things and act a certain way. Now that I’m almost 30, I’m doing things MY WAY and I like it! LOVE this outfit, girrrrllll…you are stunning. xo

    • I’m 31 and turning 30 was one of the best things to happen to me! It was the best year of my life and the year I really came into who I truly am. I always tell people to follow their heart :) Keep it up girl! And thank you! Clothes and the art of styling bring me immense joy!

Leave a Reply

