Tartan with a twist please

Recently I curated a fashion show for Good Day Sacramento with Tartan plaid being the main star. Image

This fall season the classic Tartan has been appropriated as the ‘it’ print and was seen all over the fall runways. I’m a classic girl by nature so the print is a definite yes in my books. What I’ve loved seeing is people taking the classic print and making it hip and modern; even edgy. This was exactly the direction I wanted to take the Good Day show I did. 

I say why not take your classic Pendleton pleated skirt and make it sexy with an adorable crop top (Heart Boutique $18) and a fitted leather jacket? (Freestyle $18! and yes it’s real leather and was originally a $650 jacket) P.S. This Pendleton skirt is reversible! (Freestyle $8)

Image

 

One item I pulled for the show that I LOVED was from Deseret Industries. It’s a vintage coat from the 80’s ($8) with a velvet collar and buttons. I paired it with a contemporary Ann Taylor sequin top (Freestyle $12)  to make it modern. Image

Remember this fall season to have fun with Tartan and don’t hesitate to make the classic print modern and hip with a leather jacket, leggings, or a sequin top or hat.Image

Here’s the link to the segment:

http://gooddaysacramento.cbslocal.com/video/9408935-fall-fashion/

10 thoughts on “Tartan with a twist please

    • Thx! I got all the Tartan from Deseret Industries thrift, Freestyle Clothing thrift, and SPCA thrift. (They had a lot) the girls are all my friends :) I use friends as models for the TV segments. Are you local?

    • Thanks for the nice comment Karen. Perhaps I can set up some kind of thrift date and have a few of you girls meet me at a store and I can teach you my ways :)

Leave a Reply

