Eternal Optimist…

“I am fundamentally an optimist. Whether that comes from nature or nurture, I cannot say. Part of being optimistic is keeping one’s head pointed toward the sun, one’s feet moving forward. There were many dark moments when my faith in humanity was sorely tested, but I would not and could not give myself up to despair. That way lays defeat and death.” ~ Nelson Mandela

With the passing of Nelson Mandela last week I was reminded how powerful and inspiring people can be; in particular Mr. Mandela. In the face of hardship and struggle he was able to persevere on to become one of South Africa’s and the worlds leading example that anything is possible.

I, too, am a fundamental optimist. I have had my fair share of hardships, but have managed to turn my hardships into positives.  All of us have gifts and it is our duty while on this planet to hone in on these gifts to make a difference to humankind. Nelson Mandela’s legacy will continue to inspire for generations to come and it is he who I think about often when feeling stuck, sorry for myself, or lost. He was able to over come and change the world and who knows, maybe one day I can be that change, too.

Rest in peace Madiba ~ thank you for inspiring this girl and making me believe that anything is possible.

The eternal optimist in me always smiles no matter what…

Sweater from Thrift Town, $5.99

ImageImageImageImageImage

3 thoughts on “Eternal Optimist…

  1. Hi there, I am currently starting up an online thrift store, where we sell new and thrift items. There is currently a weekend sale going on, I need to get rid of some items to put some new items in this weekend, and I’m hoping that you would give it a chance and check it out! You might find something you like !!!

  2. You are sooo adorable!! Keep your head up:) lol as I sit here and type, “No Woman, No Cry” is playing on my radio:) Everythings gonna be alright:) Happy Holidays sweetie!!

Leave a Reply

