Fashion changes, but style endures ~ Coco Chanel

This past weekend marked the 2nd Fabulous Thrift Tour that I hosted along with the sponsor of the trip, Freestyle Clothing Exchange. It was a sold out bus with 40 gals and one guy; Abe you are a trooper for putting up with us ladies for 8 hours! I’m in the process of gathering all the pictures from the day and will do a big write up soon. 

Today I stumbled upon a quote by the great Coco Chanel that read: “Fashion changes, but style endures.” I got to thinking a lot about individuality and staying true to your authentic self. 

It’s the person that wears the clothes that transcends style. I wear what I want because it makes ME feel good. I don’t conform to what society tells me to be and I sure as heck will wear something even if it isn’t ‘on trend.’ Orginality comes from staying true to yourself and with that you become, well, YOU! 

I’ve always adored black and white, but this winter season I’m a wee bit of a fiend for it. It’s a fashion statement that I will forever love, no matter if it’s in or not.  Black and white is not only classic and will never go out of style in my opinion, but it can also be edgy and bold with a graphic print. Oh! I forgot to mention that one of my favorite black and white outfits got picked as one of the winners from Thrift Store Runway last month! Image I won $500 for having 1 out of 5 of the best thrifted looks for under $50. Do you think you have an amazing thrifted outfit for less than $50? Then submit to http://www.thriftstorerunway.com and enter!

I’m a bona-fide thrifter, but from time to time new pieces catch my eye and I have to have them. I am head over heels in love with my new French Connection dress and Stuart Weitzman shoes. Might I add that both were purchased on super sale. (The shoes were 1/2 off!)  Once a bargain hunter, always a bargain hunter.

 

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

8 thoughts on “Fashion changes, but style endures ~ Coco Chanel

  1. I really love this entry. I really admire how you interpret fashion, especially after joining the thrift store tour and watching you shop. There is a lot of fashion blogging going on and I find yours to be the most unique…and I’m not just blowing smoke😉. There’s a lot of blogs out there featuring gingham and jcrew jewelry knockoffs and I’m guilty of following every last one but it makes me appreciate your uniqueness and your trueness to thrifting.

    • Awwwww, thank you so much! You are so sweet. Fashion is my art and it really is my passion to help inspire others through my frugal fashions. Girl, you just made my week. Thank you so much! Lets hang soon, I would love to do a Mommy and baby segment sometime on Good Day Sac. You and your daughter would be perfect!

  2. I can’t wait to see your pics from the thrift tour! It was so much fun hosting you guys! :) Who takes your blog photos btw? I need to step up my outfit blog posts…

    -Courtney

    • Hi Courtney! Thank you for hosting our thrift tour at Article. You went above and beyond the call of duty, i.e. helping me out of that dress I got stuck in! My mom takes my pics. I have a good camera and edit all the pics myself.

Leave a Reply

