“Dream on little dreamer”…

Dream on little dreamer

And this is how it all begins

Move your feet

Feel how sweet it is

Dream on little dreamer

Follow all of your signs

You got to gather what you need

You got to choose a direction

And when the moment is right for you

You got to go… (lyrics by Above & Beyond)

Today I dedicate my post to all the dreamers out there. I’m a firm believer that anything is possible if our intentions are good, we work hard, and remain humble throughout the process.

The state of fear, for me, is one of the scariest places to be. For years I was a slave to fear and subsequently, I let it take control over my life. Out of all this fear finally came light about three years ago when I decided to suck it up and start volunteering at the Crocker Art Museum. See, I kept thinking they were eventually going to hire me because ‘didn’t they know I had an Art History degree?!’ One day I woke up and had an epiphany that things don’t just happen by sitting around expecting things to be handed to you. With this new found epiphany I set my ego aside, got myself a slice of humble pie, and became the unpaid volunteer Receptionist for the Museum. With in 3 months I became the Art Auction intern, a few months after that the Director of the Museum hired me as her assistant, a year after that I transfered to the Special Events dept, and now I’ve been acting as Interim Manager of the Events dept for the past 5 months. I say all this to remind myself how grateful I am to the Crocker Art Museum for all the wonderful opportunities they have bestowed upon me in the last 3 + years. It had always been a dream of mine to work there and I made it happen by being tenacious and hard working.

As with anything in life, things come and go, but I will always look back at my experience there as a positive one. I quite literally ‘found myself’ again at the Museum. When I started I was so broken. My spirit was wounded and through art I was able to pick up the pieces and become the woman I was always meant to be. It may sound silly, but it’s true. Everyday when I walk through the doors I look forward to seeing the docents, all the school children, the visitors that may have never been to a museum before, and my co-workers. My attitude of gratitude sometimes sees another direction, but today I am on the right side of the tracks. I really feel had I never started working at the Museum all my fashion successes would have never happened.

I’ve had some absolutely wonderful opportunities present themselves lately, but also a lot of feelings of uncertainty and wondering what my next steps in life are. I can say that no matter what, everything is going to be ok. I have HUGE dreams for myself and sometimes forget that I am 100% in control  of making my dreams a reality. The only thing that ever gets in my way is fear and today I say no to fear and yes to the dreams that will continue to blossom and grow with the belief that anything is possible.

Art and fashion are synonymous in my world. I recently went to an art opening full of spectacular contemporary art that just blew my mind. I couldn’t help myself and wanted to coordinate my ensemble to match the exhibit. I went to one of my favorite local thrift stores (Crossroads Trading Company) and hanging there was the most spectacular art inspired dress I had ever seen. It was like magic, pure thrifted magic. Damien Hirst was one of the artist being shown and my dress had Hirst written all over it, from the circles to the butterflies. The dress was not only magical, but the art opening was as well.

Dream big my friends…

TIP: Crossraods Trading Co. is a buy, sell, trade store. I got my dress for free because I came in and sold clothes. I used my store credit to buy the dress! ($15) They give 50% store credit or 35% cash. They have stores all over:

http://crossroadstrading.com/?gclid=CKKTnLzm_rwCFchFMgodXDkASg

Outfit: Dress from Crossroads ($15) Vintage clip on earrings from Thrift Town ($1.99) and Stuart Weitzman heels purchased new at the store, but 1/2 off!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

4 thoughts on ““Dream on little dreamer”…

    • Hi Misty, no I’m not leaving the Crocker. But, sometimes I lose track of how grateful I am to have my job there and how it changed my life for the better. It’s a constant source of inspiration for me!

Leave a Reply

