Careers in Art: Project Runway ~ Crocker Art Museum style

When I get to share my passion for fashion with others I’m filled to the brim with joy. Each and every one of us possess a special gift and I believe with all my heart that my gift is fashion and the ability to make others feel their absolute best through clothing. Clothing is so much more than a piece of material, it’s the extension of our soul wrapped around our bodies.

This Saturday I have the privilege of teaching my first class at the Crocker Art Museum. I was approached by our Education department some months ago to teach a course on fashion to teens and I JUMPED on the opportunity! To share your passion with others, especially teens, is such a gift. I don’t want to spill too many of the details, but I will give you this: There will be a grand finale Project Runway inspired fashion show on our Teen Takeover night! I hope to see everyone at the Crocker on Thursday, April 17th at 7:30 pm. All the looks will be curated by the kids with the direction of my co-teacher Daphne and I.

Big thanks in advance to Amber of Cast Images, and Angelina of Deeda Salon for lending their expertise to the 6 week class.

It’s opportunities like these that make me realize how beautiful life really is and how lucky I am to share my passion for fashion to such eager young kids.

Here’s the link to the class for more details:

https://crockerartmuseum.org/learn-do/programs/classes-camps-parties/event/5620-careers-in-art-project-runway

Art inspires my fashion ALL the time and will inspire the kids in the class as well. Here are a few of my favorite art inspired looks that I’ve come up with in the past:

Look #1 inspired by the artist Paul Jenkins:

Image

Look #2 Inspired by the artist Mondrian:

Image

Look #3 inspired by the Abstract Expressionist painting in my living room:

Image

4 thoughts on “Careers in Art: Project Runway ~ Crocker Art Museum style

    • Sell them! I am the BIGGEST fan of buy/sell/trade stores. For example I just went to Crossroads Trading Company and sold. I got $35 dollars in trade and bought Jimmy Choo shoes with it! They were $45, so I essentially got them for $10. But, if you just want to get ride of stuff sell to stores like Crossroads, Buffalo Exchange, or Freestyle for cash. They’ll give you 35% cash for what they would sell it for. Hope this helps! :)

Leave a Reply

